One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

A Rainy Friday



I woke up to the sound of rain on the roof and the sensation a cat climbing onto my back and settling in. This was all the encouragement I needed to snuggle in against my pillow a little longer. And before long, there were a few rumbles of thunder to seal the deal.

It wasn’t really a day to sleep in, though, so before long I was up and seeing just how heavy the morning’s rain was. We had two such storms to book-end our day, though the one which blew through around dinnertime was certainly more intense, as regards the lightning and thunder.

I always enjoy the first big boomer of the season, and this one was pretty impressive. Not only were there buckets of rain dropping from the sky, but lots of lightning strikes to thrill to, as well.

No other complaints about the rain. The trees certainly seem to be loving it, as they are all budding out with tiny new leaf shoots and flower buds.

Here’s a picture of a tree I love near the parking lot of Seaman’s Bank at Brackett Farm here in Eastham. I’m not exactly sure what the species is, and no one I’ve asked has been able to identify it for me. My suspicions are that it’s a tulip tree, or perhaps a catawpa (but I’m not even sure I’m spelling the latter right, so there’s the sum total of my knowledge on the subject..). Anyway, it’s a beauty!

Another wild and untamed forsythia, with a nice big clump of yucca as a neighbor. These two make their home along Massasoit Road in Eastham.

Here’s the foggy view to the southwest across First Encounter Marsh.

Leave a Reply

