One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

Remembering Our Motivation


If you, like me, are feeling a little itchy about the fact that it is still only November 28th, and already the Christmas decorations, songs and sales fliers are EVERYWHERE (and even your dog has jumped on the bandwagon)…then I have good news for you, in the form of some perspective.

Tonight, at 8 p.m., the 1965 classic, “A Charlie Brown Christmas” will receive its annual television broadcast, on ABC (check your local listings). I have it on videotape, which has been helpful in busy years when I’ve missed the TV presentation, but I make sure I see this most special Special at least once each season. If you haven’t seen it in a while, take the time to sit down and enjoy it tonight!!

I can just about promise you it’ll make you feel a bit better about the commercial rampage the season seems on its face…and if you don’t laugh at Snoopy, or the outdated notion of aluminum trees…or the idea that PigPen can raise a dustcloud in a snowstorm…well, then, my condolences to you, good friends–I hope you can find a quiet corner to wait out the month of December!

For the rest of you, I wish you a long and pleasant holiday season, full of all the good feelings, kindness and warmth that is meant come with it!

Peace on Earth. Good will to All.

Comments on: "Remembering Our Motivation" (1)

  1. Yay, Peanuts!! I haven’t watched it in awhile, though I did watch Rudolph the Red Nose Reindeer, the stop action stuff recently. It was cute. It does bring joy.

Leave a Reply

