One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

Eastbound Again

And so it was Saturday and I took once more to the road.
On the way down the Northway, I spotted an aeriel tic-tac-toe game being played by commercial airlines in the skies above during this travel-heavy weekend.

I was lucky in my travel plans, as I was able to meet my old buddy Jack at a diner just off the highway. We had a great visit, talking about Santa…and Thomas the Tank Engine…and we even touched on his “owl” issues a bit.
As you can see, Jack’s in one of those “eat it or wear it” phases…so it was certainly a memorable diner visit, for us and the staff!

Despite the culinary chaos, it was great to spend some time with Jack and I even got to chat with his Mom a bit, too!!

Jack certainly keeps his baby sister laughing!

He’s a bit of a monkey boy, but it sure was great to see him!

All too soon, of course, farewells were traded and I was back onto the highway, just in time to catch another great sunset as I circled around Albany, turning east toward the Mass Pike on 787 and 90.



I was pretty pleased how well these pictures came out, as I was shooting through the closed passenger side window as I drove along.



And then the sunset was over and the long dark ride across the state was fully underway. Fortunately I had the talking book of Annie Proulx’s The Shipping News to keep me interested.


As you can see, there were plenty of other travelers sharing the road, and things moved slowly for a while…but finally, I was through the last toll booth, and a little while later back on the Cape.

A nice holiday surprise awaited me as I pulled in the driveway…and I hopped out of the car to take a picture before parking in the way of a good shot.

And once the photo was taken, I’d locked myself out of the car. Oh, there was a spare car key inside the house…but the only house key was inside the still-running car. Glad to say Owen out of work before long…ah, it’s good to be home!

Leave a Reply

