One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

On A Friday In November


When the heavy (and I mean torrential) rains of this morning subsided, I found this singular orange chrysanthemum…possibly the last bloom we’ll see in the garden this fall.

Something about having recently been off-Cape, I wanted to drive out and see the ocean sometime this week and this morning found a few moments to do just that.



I’m not sure what species this is, something I found growing at the Coast Guard station parking area. It looks sort of honeysuckle-like. I’ll check around and revise this passage when I get the answer.

I did recognize this seaside goldenrod, even sodden as it was from the recently passed storm.

On a whim as I headed home from the office tonight, I detoured to Skaket Beach and arrived just in time for the start of a nicely spectacular sunset.



The sunset only grew more amazing as I continued the ride home, though…and I ended up pulling off onto Fort Hill Road to take these next photos in the marsh there. I know we have some lovely dusks in high summer, but for my money, the most wonderful Cape Cod sunsets are off-season events.


McKoy Road, Eastham, MA, @ 4:22 p.m.

Leave a Reply

